Alex Spencer


1. Toxic Mountains*
2. Scorched Earth
3. Shipwreck
4. We Bear Witness
5. Shine
6. Preventative Medicine*
7. Changing Shells
8. Insect Song
9. Memory of Water
10. Moments
11. Stay Human
12. Francis Bacon

(*Recommended for radio)



Release Date
12 April 2019

Having been away from the active music scene for several years while raising her 4 children, Alex Spencer has returned with a compelling new album, Shine. Teaming up with the stellar Berlin jazz trio of Ben Lehmann (double bass), Martial Frenze (drums) and Paul Engelmann (alto saxophone), Spencer has produced work of change and transformation. The songs explore juxtapositions between youth and ageing, children and parents, technology and humanity – all underpinned by the group’s steady rhythms and mellow tones. Part feel-good jazz, part sophisticated folk, this album stretches its arms wide and brings its themes together around a kitchen table where everyone is welcome.

Growing up in a musical family amongst both the green hills of western England and the forests of southern Germany, Alex Spencer moved to the big city of Berlin after her studies in Philosophy in the summer of 2000. Between her children and working as a teacher, she has also managed to keep her life and identity as an artist alive, releasing her first album, ‘Underwater’ in 2010 and following it up with ‘Shine’ in 2019. When she’s not playing live on the Berlin singer-songwriter gig circuit, Alex can be found walking her dog through Görlitzer Park in her Kreuzberg neighbourhood.

Alex Spencer’s full discography:

Shine (2019)
Underwater (2010)

Artist links: