No Echo

1. Love Me, Love Me
2. No Echo*
3. Scream for Silence
4. Funeral Song

(*Recommended for radio)


The Good Times Co

Release Code


Release Date
5 March, 2021

Dassie is the solo work of David Moffatt, best known in South Africa as the guitarist and co-songwriter for indie/alt-rock band The Dirty Skirts. David’s latest Dassie EP, No Echo, sees a return to that classically familiar guitar-driven sound (think Bloc Party, Interpol, Razorlight) after the combination of subdued ukulele and gentle electronica that earned him a South African Music Award nomination for his first Dassie release, Mistress.

No Echo is part of a body of music written in 2019 and 2020, and recorded during the 2020 lockdown. David’s approach to songwriting is to draw as much from the head as from the heart: first creating a music collage before concluding with a vocal melody overlay. The outcome is a sound that skillfully balances the natural optimism of the genre with a lyrical perspective more soberly focused on the violence and anxiety of the society that surrounds him.

As part of The Dirty Skirts, David established himself as a mainstay of the South African rock scene, releasing 4 albums and signing to Sony Records while headlining many South African Festivals and performing at SXSW. In addition, the band regularly opened for international rock bands on tour in South Africa, including Oasis, Snow Patrol, Billy Talent, Three Doors Down and Evanescence. The Dirty Skirt’s 2011 album “Lost in the Fall” won a South African Music Award for Best Alternative Album.

Dassie’s full discography:

No Echo (2021)
Mistress (2014)